By Cathy Jones
The section of Burlington Road, between Meredith Street and Bridge Road, is located on Sections 11 and 12 of the ‘Village of Homebush’ Estate. Residential development commenced c.1880 in this section of Burlington Road.
The southwest corner of Meredith and Burlington Road was once occupied by a large Victorian style house called ‘Comraques’, built 1891, whose frontages faced both Burlington Road and Meredith Streets.
The first owner was Henry Pain. By 1900, the house to W H McClelland, a silk merchant and Alderman of Strathfield Council. However, the McClelland married the daughter of Henry Pain, so it is possible Pain still resided at the house (more research is needed). Both Pain and McClelland were active in the early development of the Wesleyan Church of Homebush (later Methodist and then Uniting Church), corner Burlington and Meredith Street.
A fascinating history of Colonel John Henry Pain, born in Homebush and son of Oswald Henry Pain (likely the same Henry Pain of ‘Comraques’) is featured on https://www.anzac-biographies.com/2017/06/04/481/
‘Comraques’ was later owned by James Paterson. By 1936, the house was demolished and the estate of James Paterson was subdivided creating four lots (1-4) on Burlington Rd and one lot facing Meredith St (Lot 5). The land was offered for sale in October 1936 as ‘Paterson’s Estate’ (Deposited Plan 17905) by auction.
The houses at 74, 76, 78 and 80 Burlington Rd are situated on the Paterson’s Estate subdivision. ‘Lillianfels’ 74 Burlington Road was built in 1940 for owner schoolteacher Robert M Ross by the builder John Craig of Dulwich Hill.
Strathfield Council Building Registers
Notice of Land Transfer under Local Government Act 1919
Department of the Valuer General NSW – Valuation List – Valuation District of Strathfield