Mayors, Deputy Mayors & Aldermen of Strathfield

Service history for Mayors, Deputy Mayor and Aldermen (later Councillors) from 1885 to 2020 in PDF format.


The first Mayor of Strathfield was mining agent George Hardie, who was elected in August 1885.  Some biographies are available by following the hyperlinks.

Deputy Mayors

The first Deputy Mayor appointed at Strathfield was Joseph Airey in 1918.  There were Deputy Mayors appointed from 1918-1924.  In 1940 William Cosgrove was elected Deputy Mayor, due to the illness of the Mayor Alexander Melville.  Deputy Mayors were not regularly appointed until 1948-49, after the amalgamation with Homebush Council and Enfield Council.